Sunday Nerves and Tuesday Chicken Chili

September 23, 2008 at 3:35 pm Leave a comment

I woke up Sunday morning with a knot in my stomach – it was the day that I was going to meet Zilla‘s mom and step-dad.

The weekend had been pretty fun – Zilla and I started our “Conversational Japanese” course, we’d had dinner with Professor McHottie and her partner SoftballShimmy, Crazy/Hot, Jimmylicious, Tater, and Teacher, gone to the Great Forest Park Balloon Race and Balloon Glow, and acquanited SoftballShimmy, Prof. McHottie and Teacher with our favorite little dive bar. We’d gotten delishus sooooshi (yeah, I just felt like spelling it that way) and had some good Welsh pub grub, and while it was a busy weekend, it was also really relaxing and a lot of fun.

But I was nervous the entire time about meeting Zilla’s parents.

It went off without a hitch. They reminded me a good deal of my grandparents, which is not to suggest at all that they’re older, because that’s not the case, but they were just kind and very what-you-see-is-what-you-get kinda folks. I really enjoyed their company a great deal and look forward to getting to know them better.

And speaking of nerves, I’m all worked up. I’m putting the letter to my parents in the mailbox today. I’m going to be all kinds of worked up until I hear from them … if I do.

Fingers crossed.

Tonight though, I’ll be quite content putting my jammie bottoms on and consuming some delicious white chili with chicken and cornbread tonight at Zillas.

Entry filed under: Life, Personal, Professor McHottie, Relationships, scary, Tater, Teach, Zilla. Tags: , , , , .

Cuz I’m a Star Wars Nerd, Yo. Off With Their Heads!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get Hola Gatito Via E-Mail!

Visitors


